Social media and new technologies: keeping you instantly outdated

 

From an industry standpoint, the videos Did You Know 3.0 and Social Media Revolution 2011 proved that I’m likely to have job security, even if it isn’t necessarily at the same job. Social media is not going away, so if I’m able to keep up-to-date (somehow) with it, I’ll likely be an asset to any company. The downside is that it’s almost impossible to keep up-to-date. In Did You Know it said we are currently preparing students for jobs that don’t exist where they will be using technologies that haven’t been invented yet. It’s statements like those that make me wonder how anyone is supposed to stay on top of everything new that comes along. People are just like technology these days: instantly outdated.

 

I also realized the advantages I have over people who were starting their careers even just 15 years ago. I have an endless supply of information on the internet, and because I grew up with the internet around me I know how to use it to my advantage. Using a book to look something up doesn’t even register to me as an option unless I’ve exhausted all internet resources I can think of (or if something on Google tells me to check out a book). I’m positive that I can do more research with online tools in an hour than someone 15 years ago could do all day in a library or out in the field. And it’s easy. I don’t even have to get out of bed to do intense research if I don’t want to, which is something amazing that I will probably always take for granted.

The statistic I found most alarming was that because of the rapidly increasing amount of new technical information that is being created, half of what people earning a four-year degree learn in their first year will be outdated by their third year of study. I’m in my fifth year, so apparently many of the things I learned in my freshman and sophomore years are already outdated. That’s terrifying news when I’m edging so close to the “real world.” But what this information really told me is that I’ll be learning new things for the rest of my life. College can’t teach me the things I’ll need to know for my future job because those things probably haven’t even been invented yet. I think that’s a pretty wild thought.

 

Another point I wanted to look at was the mood difference between the two videos. The Did You Know presentation was accompanied with daunting music that made new technologies and social media seem like a burden that was ruining people and their connections with one another. The Social Media Revolution clip had a much more uplifting soundtrack that made me feel like social media was bringing hope and building better relationships in the world. I think it’s important to realize the impact those different messages could have one people. If someone watched one video and not the other they might choose to view new technologies in a bad light, which would ultimately impact their use of those tools in society. Just a simple YouTube video can make that big of an impact. And to think, 10 years ago I couldn’t even type 70 wpm.

About elenajade

I am a graduate in Mass Media and English from Minnesota State University, Mankato where I was formerly the News Editor for the student-run newspaper, the Reporter. Currently, I am a front desk clerk at GrandStay Residential Suites, and I just finished up an internship at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore in Mankato, MN. I grew up in the small town of Phillips, WI and am open to job opportunities in large, metro areas because I've come to enjoy city life through all of my experiences and travels. At this moment, I plan to move to Los Angeles in August 2012 in hopes of starting a great career.

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. this video is insane! I’m a current grade 10 student in a rural area, i had just moved here from the city. My teacher asked me to work on an assignment about what the world needs. I used both these videos for my assignment and it doesn’t seem to stop shocking me just how much we as humans rely on technology and the internet.

Leave a Reply

